The Journals of Father Alexander Schmemann, 1973-1983. pp.107-207

More excerpts form Schmemann’s Journals:

In unity,
distinctions do not disappear
but become unity, life, creativity.
Feb 11, 1976 – p.107
I wish I could apply this to unity between Christian Orthodox jurisdictions, but these past few months do not seem to point n that direction, alas – and that would make Schmemann so sick!

What I say does not come from me,
only how I say it.
All creativity is to make sure
that the how corresponds to the what;
that is the cooperation of man with God,
the mystery of human freedom.
Feb 18, 1976 – p.108
I like applying this to my painting.

Does not what is most important in our life, the divine,
happen to us, so to say, not without our knowledge, no,
but when we completely give ourselves up,
almost die for a while?
It’s strange.
Nov 4, 1976 – p.133
Strange and so true… It won’t happen unless you die to your false self.

The power of sin
is not in being tempted by obvious evil,
but in the imprisonment of the heart
in all sorts of little passions
and in the impossibility
to freely breathe and live.
Dec 26, 1976 – pp.139-140
Even so much more true today than at Schmemann’s time, I would think. Let’s take only as example time people spend in Farmville…

The uniqueness of Christianity is
the “immanent character of the transcendent,”
and the “transcendent character of the immanent.”
Feb 5, 1979 – p.207
I could use this to prepare for weekly confession:
What attention have I paid to the transcendent manifesting itself in my daily life, encounters, activities?
Have I lived these encounters and activities merely on the immanent level, or have I touched to their transcendent dimension?

Leave a Reply

BEAUTY

WILL SAVE

THE WORLD

